What Is The Ableism Project?

Well, the first thing you’ll notice is if you type “ableism” in Microsoft Word you’ll receive that dreaded red squiggle underneath. You’ll be directed toward “albinism,” “abeles” or maybe “abseils.” This -ism, unlike “racism,” “sexism” and “Anti-Semitism” is much less discussed, however it covers a wide range of disabilities and disorders and therefore, a wide range of people.

So the best way to define the Ableism Project is to start with defining “Ableism.”

Ableism is a form of discrimination or prejudice against individuals with physical, mental, or developmental disabilities that is characterized by the belief that these individuals need to be fixed or cannot function as full members of society (Castañeda & Peters, 2000). As a result of these assumptions, individuals with disabilities are commonly viewed as being abnormal rather than as members of a distinct minority community (Olkin & Pledger, 2003; Reid & Knight, 2006). Because disability status has been viewed as a defect rather than a dimension of difference, disability has not been widely recognized as a multicultural concern by the general public as well as by counselor educators and practitioners.”

– Laura Smith, Pamela F. Foley, and Michael P. Chaney, “Addressing Classism, Ableism, and Heterosexism in Counselor Education”, Journal of Counseling & Development, Summer 2008, Volume 86, pp 303-309.

So there you have it.

So what is The Ableism Project? And better yet, who am I to be writing about this.

Firstly, I am not disabled.

I am a 22-year-old graduate student at Columbia University’s School of Social Work in New York City. I am taking a class (Contemporary Social Issues: Isms Lab) and we have a project. Basically, we, over the next three months are to add to our portfolio twice a week. The mediums we use are pretty much up to us, so as a self-proclaimed Twitter-addict, I decided to expand my 160 characters and reach out into cyberspace.

I want to know what you, your friends, your family and whoever else you know thinks about ableism. It’s a lot broader than you’d think so I’ll be posting twice a week while I’m on the lookout for it. But one thing I’ve already noticed in the last week of thinking about this is we often hear people out there in the world saying things and we label it “that’s racist!” “that’s sexist” but I’ve never thought “that’s ableist!” (although I guess neither has Microsoft Word it seems…)

So my first question is when you think of the word “disability” what is the first thing you see in your mind?

Because this sign is the first thing I see.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “What Is The Ableism Project?

  1. Deena says:

    As a mental health professional, the first thing I think of when I hear disability is mental disability or mental illness. As the picture you posted shows, it is often the case that the word disability implies a physical disability. However, it is important to remember that disabilities come in all different forms and that despite their often invisible nature, mental disabilities can be as debilitating as physical disabilities. In addition, the stigma that continues to surround mental illness and disability puts those who are suffering from these issues at risk for experiencing ableism as much as those who have a physical disability.

  2. ssteckel2013 says:

    Are disabled people discriminated against? I never did anything to discriminate against disabled people.

    • Unfortunately yes, people with disabilities are discriminated against quite often. They’re also at significantly higher risk for violent crimes. Stay tuned! There will be plenty of information to come!

  3. KMack720 says:

    Deena, I think you make a great point about the invisibility of many disabilities. As a vocational case manager, I work with adults with disabilities attempting to re-enter the workforce. The fact that I have to educate my clients on how to discuss their disability in a way the would not make the employer uncomfortable or sound like they are asking for “special treatment” is particularly discouraging.

  4. Weston Gardner says:

    When I hear disability I tend to think of inability to do things. Some factor that is limiting to a person and in a sense that makes them seem less capable/ less fulfilled.

  5. Ashley Adams says:

    You definitely picked an awesome topic! Lets spread this awareness!

  6. Strider says:

    I certainly agree it can be considered a type of discrimination but I have to say I felt that discrimination most heavily from counselors and psychobabble professionals. I’m not anymore happy to be considered a minority group that’s been descriminated against than I am to be a psychologically deficient person. I’d rather the global community either realize that there’s something bad in the water that’s making people wacky or just accept the fact that there is no perfect psychological model to base disorders upon.

    • To a certain extent I can agree with you. I do believe that to some mental health professionals there is the desire to medicate people into a “normal box.” However in other instances, people are really in pain from their mental state and are at risk to themselves or others. Finding that line can be difficult. When does “eccentric” become “ill?” As most of us know, homosexuality used to be in the DSM, but as times change, acceptances change as well and with them, discrimination.

      Thank you for your comment and please keep reading!

Leave a comment